Located on the ground floor of the former Abbey of Saint-Loup, the museum is open to the public since 1833. Based on reserves of nearly 500,000 objects, the museum's collections are spread over two large rooms and two large galleries and include: - The carnivorous mammals (wolf, fox, lynx, wildcat ...), - The birds observed around the natural lakes of the Orient Forest, - The insects, - The meteorites, whose impressive specimen of 2.9 kg from the fall of Saint-Memin in 1886
Allow one to two hours to marvel at the exhibits. Disclaimer : The management team of the destination has the possibility to change the opening days and hours without prior communication.
Only part of the fragile collections of the museum are exhibited, and some are only displayed during temporary exhibitions or by appointment. Displayed are also four hoopoes of Bourbon (Reunion Island), an herbarium of the Queen Marie-Antoinette, types of fossils described (for the first time in the world) by Leymerie.