Built on a slope of Mount Sainte-Genevieve, the arenas are one of the only two Gallo-Roman monuments of Paris. They have been discovered in the 19th century, exactly in 1869, when the Onmnibus Company from Paris has made important works to build the tramway lines of the rue Monge. This company has wanted at first to make from these arenas a garage, but Victor Hugo and Victor Duroyet participated in the funding to dig up part of the monument, and during the construction of Line 10 and the closure of the tramway in 1883, places and engines let there per the Company are emptied.
Plan 30 minutes to 1 hour to visit the arena. Square des Arenes de Lutece is open daily from 08:00 to 22:00 in Summer from 08:00 to 17:00 in Winter. Free admission. Disclaimer : The management team of the destination has the possibility to change the opening days and hours without prior communication.
During the visit, you will be able to see the cages where there were animals and dressing of the actors, in these arenas which were among the largests in the Roman World and could welcome up to 16,000 people.